Medium’s Comments Section Is My Favorite Feature

Use it to boost your feed, build connections, and help new authors

Diona L. Reeves
1 min readMay 11, 2023

--

Photo by Federico Beccari on Unsplash

Lately, my feed has become a regurgitation of the same authors and topics. It’s to be expected because I regularly read content on the topics presented.

But sometimes I’m in the mood for more.

Cue the comments!

I know some people clap for comments to gain followers. I see them as an opportunity.

Reading what others think is a fascinating way to identify trending topics. But it doesn’t stop there.

To feed my curiosity and build connections, I access the profile of readers whose comments resonate. I scan their info and make it a point to read at least two or three articles.

Typically, I end up following that person.

This approach guarantees access to new content, and it also lets me control my reading selection instead of relying on an algorithm to predict my mood.

It’s a treasure hunt of sorts, and I’ve found many fantastic writers this way.

The best part? This approach doesn’t just benefit me. It also boosts the writer’s follower count, which is a big deal if they’re just starting out or need affirmation that their posts are worthwhile.

How do you prefer to use the comments section?

--

--

Diona L. Reeves

Thrives on being nicheless! Writes about life lessons, creativity, organization, and more.